National Center for Systems Security and Information Assurance (CSSIA)

The Center for Systems Security and Information Assurance (About CSSIA) is a National Science Foundation (NSF) Advanced Technological Education (ATE) National Resource Center. Since 2003, CSSIA has provided students with real-world learning experiences in information assurance and network security through several program improvement supportive initiatives.

CSSIA National Resource Center Goals

  • Maintain and develop cybersecurity related curriculum content including instructional materials, assessment instruments, lab activities and and virtual student skills competition environments.

  • Building a national infrastructure of qualified cybersecurity educators.

  • Developing national infrastructure remote virtualization lab environment and content

  • Increase the number of minority, women, veterans and other underrepresented groups in the cybersecurity and information assurance professions.

CSSIA Leadership Team

John Sands

Dr. John Sands
Director and PI – CSSIA Center
Phone: 708.955.5426

Dr. Nate Evans

Dr. Nate Evans
Senior Personnel

David Durkee

David Durkee
Senior Personnel
Phone: 440.525.7464

Ken McCullough

Ken McCoullough
Internal Evaluator

Ginny Swyndroski

Ginny Swyndroski
Office Manager
Phone: 708.974.5725

Stanley Kostka

Stanley Kostka
CAE Regional Resource Center Manager
Phone: 708.608.4285

Mike Gonzalez

Michael Gonzalez
CSSIA Program Coordinator
Phone: 708.608.4464

Profile Picture Placeholder
Profile Picture Placeholder

Agata Rawdanik
Data Center Manager
Phone: 708.974.4075

National Visiting Committee

Dr. Barbara Belon (Chair)
Colloquium for Information Systems Security Education

Bob Schoenherr
Cisco Systems and Aries Technology

Carol Sledge
Carnegie Mellon University

Don Goff
CStar Systems

Daniel Manson
California State Polytechnic University 

Bob Thomas
Department of Homeland Security

Alan Greenberg
Security Professional

Clydene Stagvik
Cisco Academy Area Manager (retired) 

Competition Industry Advisory Board (CIAB)

Dr. David Durkee (Chair)

Alan Greenberg

Bob Schoenherr

Bob Thomas
Department of Homeland Security 

Bruce Lindberg
Center for Strategic Information Technology and Security 

Doug Huber
Loraine County Community College 

Frank Frydrch
Secure Works 

Greg Pangrazio
Huron Consulting Group 

Ken Rowe
University of Illinois 

James Lewis
Washtenaw Community College 

Michael Davis
Savid Technologies, Inc. 

Rudy Ristich
Secure Works 

Steve Fall
Polk Community College 

Tim Flug
Inver Hills Community College